How to Watch The Conjuring Movies in Chronological Order – How to Watch The Conjuring in Order


How to Watch The Conjuring Movies in Chronological Order – The Conjuring is one of the most prolific horror movie franchises of the last decade, with eight films released so far since 2013.

With multiple prequels and spinoffs, the series is not set chronologically based on release date. You’ll need to take this into account when deciding what order to watch all eight movies in.

With the exception of The Nun (2018), every film is currently available to stream on HBO Max. So if you want to watch every Conjuring title, you’ll need to use multiple platforms.

How to Watch The Conjuring Movies in Chronological Order – What to Know

  • The Conjuring movies were not released chronologically.
  • Every installment but The Nun (2018) is available on HBO Max.
  • The series timeline spans three decades (1952-1981).

How to Watch The Conjuring Movies in Chronological Order 

The original 2013 film and its direct sequels are set during the 1970s and into the early 80s. The movies follow the fictional ghost hunting of real-life paranormal investigators Lorraine and Ed Warren.

However, the series has also produced several spinoffs that delve into the backstories of other characters, including the infamous haunted doll Annabelle. This has resulted in a timeline that spans about 30 years (1952 – 1981).

To watch The Conjuring in chronological order of events, follow this viewing guide:

MovieTimingWhere to Watch
The NunSet in 1952 Romania and tells the history of Valek the Defiler, the demonic nun introduced in The Conjuring 2.TNT TBS DirecTV
Annabelle: Creation Set in 1955 Southern California and tells the origin story of the haunted doll Annabelle.HBO Max Tubi
Annabelle Set in 1967 Santa Monica, California and follows Annabelle as she haunts a newlywed couple.HBO Max DirecTV
The Conjuring Set in 1971 Rhode Island and follows Ed and Lorraine Warren as they investigate a haunted farmhouse.HBO Max
Annabelle Comes HomeTakes place one year after The Conjuring and focuses on the Warrens’ daughter, Judy, as she deals with Annabelle and other demons after they escape from her parents’ artifact room.HBO Max
The Curse of La Llorona Set in 1973 Los Angeles and follows social worker Anna and her two children as they contend with an evil spirit known as La Llorona.HBO Max
The Conjuring 2Set in 1977 and picks up with the Warrens as they travel to England to investigate the infamous Enfield poltergeist.HBO Max Netflix
The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do ItTakes place in 1981 and sees the Warrens involved with the real-life trial of Arne Cheyenne Johnson, who used “demonic possession” as a defense for the murder of his landlord.HBO Max DirecTV

How to Watch The Conjuring Movies in Release Order

If you’d prefer to watch The Conjuring movies in order of release, your viewing schedule will look quite a bit different than above.

Here’s the timeline:

MovieRelease Date (US)Where to Watch
The ConjuringJuly 19, 2013HBO Max
AnnabelleOctober 3, 2014HBO Max DirecTV
The Conjuring 2June 10, 2016HBO Max Netflix
Annabelle: CreationAugust 11, 2017HBO Max Tubi
The NunSeptember 7, 2018TNT TBS DirecTV
The Curse of La Llorona April 19, 2019HBO Max
Annabelle Comes HomeJune 26, 2019HBO Max
The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do ItJune 4, 2021HBO Max DirecTV

Recommended: Access Napflix Contents – Napflix Is The Version Of Netflix That Will Put You Right To Sleep

If you want to watch The Conjuring series in one sitting, the combined runtime of all eight movies is 14 hours and 22 minutes.